What to do with all of this snow?

Here in Southern Ontario, as in most of Canada and the US, we have had mountains of snow and social media has been abuzz with photos and posts asking “what are we going to do with all of this snow?” The question is a serious one as many homeowners are worried about flooding. For the past couple of weeks I have been bringing in buckets of snow, melting them in the sink and using some of the melt-off to water my houseplants. Tonight the local news featured a story warning people to clear snow from around the foundation of homes, from window and door frames, and to clear out drain pipes and sewers on the street. So tomorrow I will have some help, and hopefully, will be able to prevent flooding in our basement. I just hope others will take some initiative to try to protect their homes as well. It is a lot of work, but I sort of enjoy the exercise, and it helps me to feel like I am doing something to protect my home and garden. If there is a slow melt this spring, it still will not have been for naught, my biceps are starting to feel more toned! And using the melted snow to water household plants saves a few pints of water each week – not much, but if everybody did this it would add up to quite a bit. Stay warm, stay dry.

I'd love to hear from you...

