Fun ways to get more exercise.

Part of the cholesterol reduction plan includes getting more exercise. We all know that moving about is important to our overall mental and physical health. Some people find this an easy part of their daily routine, some have income levels that allow for gym memberships and personal trainers or yoga classes and retreats. But, in keeping with my original motivation for this blog — improving health for people on limited budgets — I have begun to investigate some ways of getting more exercise without spending a fortune on clothing, equipment, or fees. Some ideas:

1. Walk more. This is free. If there is a safe park near you, walk in nature, the greenery and scenery will uplift your spirits, find a group or a friend to walk with, walk with your partner, walk your dog. Get off the bus one stop before your usual and walk the rest of the way to work or home. Park a few blocks away. Leave the car at home. Walk to the store. Weather is bad? Walk in a shopping mall. Even adding 1/2 walking to your daily routine will improve your health and wellbeing, and it is free.

2. Garden. Growing food and flowers improves the appearance of your home, the value of your property, and the quality of food you eat. Gardening is also a form of exercise so does double duty. If you do not have a yard, you can garden in a windowsill or on a balcony, but this will not get much exercise value.

3. Find free classes. Community centres, libraries, and some yoga schools often offer free classes to people living in their areas. Get on the internet to search for opportunities near you or sign up for community newsletters. You can also check bulletin boards in grocery stores, cafes, and so on.

4. No classes in your area? Start one.

These are just a few simple ideas, I left out running because I am not sure how safe this is for everybody. As for me, I will be attending a free zumba class in the community centre in my neighbourhood and a yoga class as well. Since the cholesterol reducing diet is not going as well as I had hoped (cannot seem to give up cheese, for example) the exercise is going to be very important. 

Wish me luck! If you  have other ideas, please use the comment section to share.

Thanks for reading.
D

2 thoughts on “Fun ways to get more exercise.

  1. Hi Dee! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. My blog is called Frugality Wise and here is a link to: http://frugalitywise.wordpress.com
    One of my articles is called Fun Frugal Fitness, and if you’re interested in reading it, you may get some additional tips on keeping fit without spending much (or any) money. Here’s a direct link to the article: http://frugalitywise.wordpress.com/2014/04/12/fun-frugal-fitness/
    Walking is great and it’s one of those activities that I too wrote about in my article.
    Thanks for reaching out, and I wish you luck in reducing your cholesterol. Both of my parents have high cholesterol. I also have a hard time giving up dairy myself, particularly cheese, even though I should for a particular health reason!

    -Saundra

    Like

I'd love to hear from you...

