Calling all writers.

A few minutes ago I read this post which somebody shared on facebook:

http://msmagazine.com/blog/2014/05/21/writing-her-in-wikipedia-as-feminist-activism/comment-page-1/#comment-259473

… and thought, what a wonderful idea. The story talks about persistent male bias in wikipedia content and calls on women, especially feminist women, to create women-centered content. For example, entries for women artists, activists, scientists, explorers and so on who do not yet have an entry. So, this week, I am going to come up with a list of women, search to see whether or not they have entries and then do some research and write entries for one or two. I will share the list here and hope that other bloggers might be interested in joining in.

On another note, have not been very active lately because I have started writing a novel (yup, really) and have also been really busy in the garden.

Image

Image

Image wo

9 thoughts on “Calling all writers.

  1. I think it’s great that you’re writing a novel, and I can’t wait to read it! Can you let me know where/when it’s posted?
    I haven’t published any feminist content but I know an author who does include works focussed on women, not sure if I can call it feminist because I haven’t really read that much yet. I’ll let you know.

    -Perse

    Like

    1. Hi Perse, thanks. My hope is to publish old style – a paper book, but might go the e-book route. It will be a while before it is done and I will let you know how it goes. So far it seems to be writing itself, but ideas and words are not coming to me every day. Going to come over and see your blog in the morning.

      Like

      1. I relate. My blog is for my books and I only finish the ones that seem to write themselves! I’ve started a few of the opposite category, but they were never successful. I also have multiple unfinished stories that I do plan to finish…because, like you said, inspiration doesn’t come every day! Let me know what you think of my blog (maybe in a comment over there as opposed to here?).

        -Perse

        Like

  2. The problem I see with this is that feminist editors are not replacing male bias with non-bias. They are replacing male biased with female biased. Reversing the roles in sexism is still sexism. We need a non-bias editing.

    Like

    1. Good point, but I am simply asking that we help to make sure women are included who should be there, It is not my intent to replace one bias with another, so I agree with you on that entirely. Did you read the post in the Ms Blog? Maybe she explains it better, I was pretty brief…

      Like

      1. I didn’t read the post in Ms Blog. I have seen this type of activism in action. The replacing of male bias with female bias isn’t a theoretical problem that may happen, but a real problem that does happen with this kind of activism. I understand the intent, and it is good. The application is more than a little flawed.

        Like

I'd love to hear from you...

